DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Verin (spoilers) and what you knew

NitroS

im quite new to wot and started reading after TGS was released but you lots of theories going around did anyone predict the theory of verin being black ajah or was that a complete suprise to everyone? i noticed in the GH that verin refered to the do and the great lord or something along those lines did u theories work it out? what about the matt and hes ashendare(sp)?

I always thought she was a badass, but never knew exactly how much until all was revealed.

Also, I liked the philosophical/theological aspect to that revelation. She sold her soul to the Dark One, but never truly served him and was secretly serving the Light the entire time. It brings up the question of her soul and if she is condemned by the Creator for eternity (or until the next Age or whatever). Imagine how pissed the DO is with her: she swore her soul to him and then betrayed him by finding a loophole right before dying. I have a feeling her torment is going to be infinitely greater than anyone else's.

Yeah it's a bunch of "I know eternity will suck, but must do one tiny iota of goodness".

I must admit I didn't see the BA thing coming. I never really caught the Verin is different hype until coming here and reading theories about her.

(Tiny Iota btw... what a brilliant sportsman)

Yes, to be fair, the fan-base was generally divided between those who thought her basically good and those who thought her BA. It turned out both sides were right, and I guess both now claim their 'rightness' was more 'profound' (yes, I do as well, I guess). I didn't really see anyone suggest something similar to the truth before TGS, but it's entirely possible someone did.

I didnt think she was Black, I didnt even think she lied outright, I thought she was bound and was just telling a misleading halftruth of "Moiraine sent me" but that the words themselves meant nothing because she hadnt stated when or where Moiraine had sent her.