Jump to content



The Wheel of Time

The Wheel of Time is one of literature’s greatest achievments in epic fantasy. It was written by the late Robert Jordan, and completed posthumously by his successor, Brandon Sanderson.

The Wheel of Time

Wheel of Time at Dragonmount, by Seamas Gallagher

One of the greatest fantasy sagas of our time began was conceived in 1984 when a man named James Oliver Rigney asked himself, "What would it be like to be tapped on the shoulder and told you were going to save the world, but also destroy it?"  Thus began his journey of writing what would become, The Wheel of Time, written under the pen name Robert Jordan.

The entire series consists of 14 main-sequence novels, all of which continue the same story, weaving towards an ultimate climax. A prequel novel, New Spring, was also published.

Books 12 through 14 were completed by fantasy author Brandon Sanderson, who was selected for the job by harriet McDougal, Robert Jordan's wife and editor after he passed away. Robert Jordan left behind an abundance of notes and audio recordings, which allowed his family and Brandon to tie up the series in a way that very closely matches his original vision.

The first book, The Eye of the World was published in 1990 by Tor Books and has been in continuous print ever since. It is published in the United Kingdom by Orbit Books. Each book the series has appeared on the New York Times best-seller list, and each one since the eighth (The Path of Daggers) debuted at #1.

What's it about?

Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time is a story that takes place both in our past and our future. In his fantasy world, the Dark One, the embodiment of pure evil, is breaking free from his prison. The overall plot is about a man who learns that he is the reincarnation of the world's messiah and is once again destined to save the world from the Dark One -- but possibly destroy it in the process. This saga is not only his story, but the story of an entire world's struggle to deal with war and change, destruction and hope.

May the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.

The Books

The Eye of the World The Great Hunt The Dragon Reborn The Shadow Rising The Fires of Heaven Lord of Chaos A Crown of Swords The Path of Daggers Winters Heart Crossroads of Twilight Knife of Dreams The Gathering Storm Towers of Midnight A Memory of Light

New Spring

Learn more

  • Create New...