DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

First Time Reading the First Book

Always Sunny

Okay. So I've never read the Wheel of Time books before, just so you know. In fact, I'm new to the whole "epic fantasy" genre. But my roomie said that this book would be a great place to start.

I've also been told that the online community would appreciate hearing from a new reader as I read the first book. Who am I to disappoint the online community, eh?

Spoilers don't bother me. Sure, I'd like it if you don't mention what happens but it isn't the end of the world if people slip up. Just, you know, don't call me an idiot if I get things wrong.

Oh, yeah, that's something else I was told: "theories and opinions are good." It's supposed to be complicated (I like complicated!) and there are twists that I won't see coming. Look forward to it! Look forward to getting things wrong, too.

But here I go, rambling on! I really do that too much.

There is a link below to what I have to say about the first bit I've read. So far Rand and Tam have made it to the town of Emond's Field to drop off their apple cider. I'm a big fan of Tam and Ewin. Mat and Bran al'Vere? Not so much.

• Replies 546
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I LOVE these threads. Please keep posting. We love to live vicarously through the eyes of new readers. Very in-depth write-up. You'll have to let us know how much of your questions are just musings and how much you actually want some guidance and answers. We should be able to give you a little additional background without spoiling the story.

Also, I know you mentioned you don't mind spoilers but I think we should still warn you - This board contains discussion of books all the way through the most recent, so I would be careful searching through any thread other than this one.

Wow, I loved that write-up. It's really interesting to see the opinions of someone new to the series.