DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Can You Contro Multiple PCs in a Party?

Lord of 13

Hi, I'm new to DM, but I had a question about RP: Is it posssible for you to control two or more PCs in a party (one that includes other, non-you-controlled PCs)?

Basically, if your party needs a BT Asha'man, and you've got a character that fits your need, can you put him into your party and control both of your PCs? Or do you have to ask around for an Asha'man and hope you get lucky?

Ex:  Party of Green Aes Sedai, Warder 1, Warder 2, and "conscripted" Noble

Needs: Asha'man for male chaneller and an Ogier

A Few Days Later... has an Ogier, but needs Asha'man

Would it be OK for Noble's controller to also add a Asha'man character

s/he has?

Thanks,

Lord of 13

Generally speaking, its preferable to keep your own PC's seperate.  As a last resort you can put two of your characters together, but since the entire point of the RP is to write and interact with other players, it's best to look for someone else.

Sometimes it has to happen anyway.  I currently have both of my Asha'man involved in one RP.  But I keep their interactions to a minimum.  I don't think they've ever even spoken to eachother. 

Long story short, it's frowned upon, but nobody is going to yell at you for it.

Yeah, I'm actually working in the planning stages of two different rps in which some of my characters will meet....but it'll probably just be a one-time thing with little interaction.  As Arath said, and as I have to remind myself sometimes, the point is to interact with other writers.