DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Olver?

Kingsky

Hey everybody i have been reading the books for a long time now but this is my first time on the forums. Anyways getting to the point. I dont know if anyone has thought about this but i will put it up anyways cause i just thought about and it makes sense to me. But I think that the boy olver in the story is actually Gaidal Cain reborn.

RJ has already stated that he isn't.

Explanation: An hour in Tel'aran'rhiod can be a minute or a day in the waking world, but it can never go backwards. Meaning that as Birgitte was spun out while Gaidal was still attached to the wheel, for him to have been spun out at that same time, he would still only be less than a year old.

Might be worth pointing out that when RJ debunked Olver=Cain, he did throw in that Olver has his own reason for being there, ie he was just not thrown in to be a red herring. And anyone who has read KOD should have a good hint about what that reason might be...

in winters heart min has a veiwing about birgette being connected to a man sometimes older, sometimes younger.  Am i the only one to read this?

No.  The man Min saw is Gaidal Cain, who is indeed younger than Birgitte in this particular spinning (having been spun out in the normal fashion while Birgitte was ripped out as an adult.  Gaidal is usually older, hence, when Min sees their adventure in future lives, she sees Cain as the older man, but in viewings of adventures in this life, Cain is younger.

But, Gaidal Cain is, at the end of KoD, an infant, not an 8 to 10 year old boy.  Olver was alive long before Gaidal Cain was spun out of T'A'R.  Olver is not Gaidal.

"sometimes older sometimes younger" meaning more than once.  He could be one of the boys on the boat to salidar, or he could be olver, i don't know.  But it was an interesting tidbit that i missed before and wondered what others thought