DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Editing programs pro's and con's

Lavandula

GIMP is free.

Photoshop is my favourite because I use it at work as well, and it's the first one I used. There's a simpler version called photoshop elements. It has less options but it's a good start I'd say ?

I like to be able to create different layers and have a lot of options, but I'm sure there are many others.

I have been using Photoshop for 20 years. Now i have a legal paid copy, but before it was a bootleg on. I have no shame since owning it was over 1k$. 

If Photoshop is your thing and paying the 9/14$ a month isn't, https://pixlr.com/editor/ is a great back up that has a lot of the same elements as Photoshop, if GIMP isn't your thing. (as it isn't for me.)

I think it comes down what your trained in, I wouldn't know where.to start in photoshop as I used gimp a decade and half

Gimp is as I understood when I was told of it made as a freeware due to people being annoyed at the high cost of photoshop

However menu and all obviously built differently so as not get in issue with copyright I presume

I have in the past cooperated making dual tutorials on stuff where someone knew how example to make an eye...they did tutorial and once I saw progress step by step I could make the replicate tutorial for gimp with where those filters, effects etc lay or what they were called

But changing a tool for an alternate if it works is going to be a hazle for most...I am still learning gimp, it gets updated for free so I think it can come down to what you started using in many cases..

Which is why it's good we got all kind of people around to help others and new people based on what's available too them