DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Rand did things in the WRONG ORDER!

Guest Gunnn24

Guest Gunnn24

I'm new to the series, just started Winter's Heart, and I think world events would have been much more peaceful if Rand had altered his journey slightly. At the start of TDR, Rand bolts for Tear because he's dreaming about Callandor. But what if the Pattern had pushed Rand to Rhuidean before Tear? Essentially, this would just change the order of books 3 and 4, but it drastically lowers the body count leading up to Tarmon Gaidon. And this is all because of Couladin. I'm sure the Forsaken were bad people back in the day, but Couladin harms the 3rd Age population of Randland WAAAAAY more than any of the Forsaken so far (I'm only on Winter's Heart).

Let's say at the beginning of TDR, Rand runs across the continent same as before, but he heads toward the Portal Stone used in TSR, not Tear. As Moiraine, Perrin, and Faile chase Rand cross-country, the Three Stooges chase the Black Ajah to Tear, and Mat follows. They hire Julian, who leads them to a town outside Tear, nearby the Portal Stone. This town does not exist in TDR or TSR, but the Pattern ( or Robert Jordan) easily could have woven it. About halfway through our improved TDR, the Stooges get captured by the Black Ajah, then rescued by Mat and Rand, who has made it to the town near the Portal Stone by this point. Over the next day or two, Rand uses the town to prepare for his journey to Rhuidean, while Moiraine, Perrin, and Faile show up, as do Rhuarc and his crew, drawn there by the Pattern.