DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Cheer Up Singles Day is Back! (Feb. 15th)

Dwynwen

Yes, I know it's already the 16th for most of you, but it's still the 15th over here, so there.   ;)

Okay, singles!  The couples have had their fun, so now it's time for ours!  The popular DM Cheer Up Singles Day celebration is back.     

Here's a little historical background on this holiday for those of you who were not around for the last few years.  I created Cheer Up Singles Day when I was a sophomore in college.  It depressed me to see how singles always seemed to get left out on Valentine's Day, and I wanted us to have our own holiday where we could feel loved and appreciated, so I created one.  I began celebrating it with friends in college, then I used it as an event for my residents when I was a Resident Assistant, and then I brought the tradition here.  We've had a Cheer Up Singles Day celebration almost every year since I've been here.

*Hands out red roses and pins that say, "I think, therefore I'm single."

As usual, the first thing I'd like to do to make our single people feel special is to let them know that they are freakin' awesome. I'll start by listing some single people I know on DM and talking about the qualities that make them special. Please feel free to post with compliments for other DM singles!

Nia:  Yes, I brag about you every year, but if people are tired of it, they are just going to have to listen anyway.   ;)  You've been so loyal and supportive throughout the years.  You are very mature and wise for your age.  I love you!

Mia:  Here's yet another person I brag about every year.  Mia, you have such a good heart, and you always make me smile.  I really miss seeing you around DM, so you must grace us with your presence more!

Ireond:  Welcome to your first Cheer Up Singles Day celebration!  You've delighted many by your witty presence on these boards, so I'm glad that you decided to stalk...er...follow me here after meeting me at Dragon*Con.