DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Wilders

Rbois

Ok, so I guess I never really understood this viewpoint. Here you have two groups of people using the power. One chooses to learn but has to be taught otherwise they will never even sense the power. The other is natural occurrence during their life. So why are they sneered at? It seems to me they would be the awe inspiring ones! "Wow you did what? You healed a man on the brink of death using the one power without even being taught how?? WOW!! I've been training in the tower for 10 years and can barely heal a paper cut!"

Ok so maybe I just hit on it.. is it a jealousy thing? Or is there more to it? I also notice it isn't just a fictional thing... similar disdain takes place in real life as well! It reminds me of how the volunteer armies were treated during the 19th century by the regular army. Scoffed at because they weren't disciplined, never thinking about the fact that when they volunteered it was for the specific purpose of being shot at, not to sit back in a peace time office going over maps... Am I making sense? Did I go to far off topic? I'll stop now.

This may not be the answer you were looking for, but it opens an opportunity to discuss one of RJ premier qualities...

The way the author thinks, the way he or she sees the world will come through in his or her writing. Ultimately, a reader will be able to judge the author's intelligence and imagination through the works.

The question you bring up ultimately leads to the reason I love WOT so much. These sorts of points - the ones that are mirrors of real life / real world occurences are the sorts of things that give readers insights into the authors' mind.

This point in particular demonstrates understanding of emotional reactions people have when interacting with others - especially situations that hit close to home for one of those involved. It also demonstrates how deeply RJ thought on the world he created.