DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Sanderson and AMOL

Auld Manriva

Is it just me or does anyone else have minor issues with Brandons' character dialogue sometimes? His narrative for all his books that I've read (The Mistborn's and Elantris) seems fine but the character dialogue sometimes seems stilted or something. Maybe it's the language. It seems too contemporary for the worlds he's built on occasion. I cannot give specific examples but on listening to the books I've thought several times, That doesn't sound right.. (I listen to books btw as I drive for a living; I have many hours to listen, and very few to read)...

It's not the readers (though I don't care a whit for the reader they have for Elantris). They've both had decent rhythm and not been mono-toned, it just seems the words used don't ring true for the characters now and again. On second or third "reads" I may figure it out. Or maybe someone else might shed some insight.

I rhyme Taim with maim.

You're not alone there...

Myself, I pronounce the "Ae" in Aes Sedai the same way as "ä" in my native language. Sounds far better to me than "Eyes Zeh-die", as it seems to be pronounced in this one WoT-PC game from '99...Is it the same in those audio-books? If so, I feel all the more right in my notion to prefer the written word.

About the topic at hand...I myself haven't read Sanderson's work so far, I might once I've done my reread of WH and finish Martin's AFfC. Care to give an example what Sanderson's style is like, and what bothers you about it?