DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

2012 Olympics

SBoydW

Not particularly interested

The only thing I happened to watch was a game of womens water polo between the USA and Spain

I'm no expert on water polo rules but to me it looked like Spain was playing a dirty game

I swear I saw one chick trying to drown someone at some point

I'm following the tennis and women's team handball. I suddenly had to follow the epee, because a Norwegian guy did well and got to the final. Sadly, just a silver. I try to follow the events that have Norwegians competing, but I won't be following the racewalk. The Norwegian contestant tested positive for doping two years ago, yet for some reason was allowed to compete. Shameful.

I will obviously follow the main track and field events. Big hopes for the 100 m.

I follow Swimming closely, and pretty much everything else I can get access to I at least have a glance at. As I am an ex-swimmer and an American, this is probably not a surprise. :D

Water polo is fairly violent. Basically, refs only call what goes on above water. What happens underwater is pretty much fair game. Part of that has to do with the way the waves on the surface wreak havoc with what you actually see from above. A part of me wishes they would install a couple of underwater cameras to forestall at least some of the worst of it and devote a ref full time to just underwater action. I've heard credible stories of men coming out of a match with a damaged testicle, and there is a legend/story about a Hungary/Soviet Union match some decades ago that was so violent the participants were bleeding freely.

Water polo is extremely vicious, I never knew it was so bad, people getting mugged left and right out there. I generally watch pretty much every bit of Olympic coverage that I can get =) The U.S. mens Gymnastics team just fell apart after that first day =(