DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Studying

So I am currently studying at the University of Pretoria (UP), but am considering changing to a correspondence course with the University of South Africa (UNISA), simply because it is *a lot* more practical.

The only thing I am worried about is whether the UNISA degree will be recognised less than the UP one (cause they often say that any idiot can get admitted to study at UNISA). The last thing I want happening is to finish studying and be told that my degree is below standard or something.

Now, what I was wondering is whether any of you guys could advise any ways in which one could investigate a matter like this?

Thanks in advance for any that reply!

Well here its all about finding how good the program that your studying is. For example on the website for West Texas A&M it says that there History program is one of the best in the country. So that's how I determine if I want to go somewhere how good is the program of study. I don't know that i've heard that people discriminate on a person based on where they got the degree. Maybe i'm just sheltered?

Check league tables for your course at the universities: make sure you look at several to compare.

Look at the pass rates/employment rates/student satisfaction rates at each institution, both in general and for your course. These can be quite telling, and it may be useful knowing the percentage of students that find work within 6 months of graduating with that particular degree. Take the student satisfaction rates well salted though.

Ask professionals in your field where they graduated from, and ask them if it made a whole lot of difference to them. Learn from their experiences, again, make sure you ask as many people in your chosen career as you can.

There you go, thinking with your sword again ... :wink: