DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Mesaana as Aes Sedai Danelle of the Brown Ajah

This is my first time posting here in a very long time, so I hope this is in the right area. I have already read the WoT series but I am starting to do a re-read, and I remembered about Mesaana's identity. I remember once before reading on here about how everyone knew it was going to be Danelle, but I myself completely missed this (as ashamed as I am to say that ^^;) So I ask now, what should I be looking for in my re-read that gave this fact away prior to Towers of Midnight?

This is my first time posting here in a very long time, so I hope this is in the right area. I have already read the WoT series but I am starting to do a re-read, and I remembered about Mesaana's identity. I remember once before reading on here about how everyone knew it was going to be Danelle,

I don't know about everybody thinking that. This seemed to have been a popular theory among hardcore WOT fans but I don't know if there was a consensus about it. Old dragonmount FAQs give a good overview of the issue.

if I remember correctly, there's a scene where Alviarion is talking to Mesaana and said she had a chimy voice and light eyes with a dreamy look or something very similar then a few pages later Alviarion passes Danelle and she's described in a very similar manner as Mesaana was. I remember right then that I assumed they were the same person

We also have Verin in tGS mention that she know or believe Mesaana is in the Tower, and she also mention something in the lines that she is probably hiding as someone who have no real interaction with others, or something like that. Dont know if she even mention it in the context of Mesaana, but Verin do make hints about it being someone secluded.

Danelle was active in the movement to depose Siuan, and when it actually occurred from Siuan's PoV, she acted very different from the way she was described other times.

"...her big blue eyes not dreamy at all."