DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Something about Thom Merrilin

TrollocFodder

So, deep breath, first post from a complete newbie...

Just re-reading the whole WOT from NS to KOD having read the whole once before a few years ago.

I'm struck by the coincidences surrounding Thom. It's either poor, unsophisticated writing (OK, discount that idea), or there's something more to Thom than the books tell us so far.

Coincidences/remarkable incidents I can recall so far (only just re-finished tDR):

1) Thom shows up in Emond's Field at the same time as Moiraine and Lan, Padan Fain, and a load of trollocs

2) Thom bests a fade (OK, I've read the other threads and this has been discussed at length - I can buy that someone as good as Thom with knives could beat a fade who wasn't all that interested in him, but it's still remarkable

3) Rand just happens to find Thom in Caihrien

4) Matt then just happens to bump into Thom in an inn in Tar Valon

It all seems too coincidental to me that Thom should just show up in far flung places at just the right time to play a significant role - sounds like ta'veren.

Are there other coincidences surrounding Thom?

1) Thom shows up in Emond's Field at the same time as Moiraine and Lan, Padan Fain, and a load of trollocs

The third prequel novel, if ever written, will expand on what's happening to make all these people show up in the same place at just the right time.

2) Thom bests a fade (OK, I've read the other threads and this has been discussed at length - I can buy that someone as good as Thom with knives could beat a fade who wasn't all that interested in him, but it's still remarkable

Thom was using daggers made with the One Power, and he doesn't so much "best" the fade as the fade takes no real interest in him because it's after Rand and Mat. The fade gives Thom a limp and then basically moves on.

3) Rand just happens to find Thom in Caihrien