DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Siuan's Warder

Abugar

Apologies up front if this has already been discussed ad nauseam. I'm new to Dragonmount and have attempted to search the forums but could not find a discussion about this.

My question is about something that happened in The Shadow Rising (TSR); and I have NOT read past Lord of Chaos (LoC).

How/why could Siuan not sense that her warder, Alric, had been killed at the opening of the Tower coup?

Again, I haven't read past LoC so please don't spoil anything.

I'd ask that when/if you respond, let me know if you are just voicing theory/opinion or if there is legit evidence.

Thanks!

Even an extremely charitable read of it there seems to be something up, true.

There's some interesting possibilities based on things you can't know for sure yet, but author explanations aren't too gratifying (Alric was held somehow--probably the power--and Sanche was distracted or at least more so than she comes off in the PoV. He was knifed after she was shielded by one of the AS there or something). My recollection of RJ and BS on that subject isn't perfect but something along those lines.

Interview: Oct 5th, 2005 Robert Jordan

For Roland Arien, a lot of people have asked questions about Alric's death. I should have made matters plainer. As I envisioned it, Alric, having sensed Siuan's extreme shock, came running to her and arrived just in time to be stabbed just before Siuan was taken into the anteroom. She should have sensed the knife going in, but that was masked by her shock. When she sees him lying there, he is dying, though not yet dead. As I said, I should have made it plainer.