DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

rand was almost dark ones champion.

Guest Dark_Rand

Guest Dark_Rand

Rand al Thor, pre GoV, almost completed the dark ones task for him by destroying the pattern. That's the dark ones goal, after all. And I think that the light covering rqnds brain protecting him from the darkness is the light incarnate. After all, even the forsaken talk about how there has never been someone spun from the wheel specifically till him. Therefore, VoG was the opening round of the last battle, and The light won. I think that is where rand first "dies" . It's my first time be gentle lol

It was a round in the battle, I agree. I'm not sure it was the first one. There's something Verin said a while ago: "this battle isn't being fought the way al'Thor assumes it will be". (TGS39) The way the tenses are used in that is something I find very interesting. Verin is saying, in effect, that the battle has already started; and also, that Rand doesn't realise that, any more than he realises the nature of the battle itself. And I think you're right: he found out what the battle really was on top of Dragonmount.

I dont think I agree with you there, metaphysical death just doesnt scream messianic enough.

Just remember that even if he does die, he will not be the first one to come back from being dead. Look at Mat after he meets the foxes. The Snakes told him he'd die and live again, then they hung him and I dont think it was for a few minutes either, They were inside Rhiudion for 7 days.

Nope I think he's gonna do a Jesus, dead for 3 days, up and walking around, save the world then goes away.

I dont think I agree with you there, metaphysical death just doesnt scream messianic enough.