DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

New Spring Novel confusion

Guest shadowmaster1951

Guest shadowmaster1951

Hi, I'm completely new to the wheel of time series which I have to say is one of the greatest book series I have ever started reading, but, I am a little confused on how the "New Spring Novel" ties in to the wot series. I was wondering if this Novel ties into the series the same way as say for exmple the way that "The Hobit" ties into the LOTR series as a starting point for how the ring of power ended up being passed down and everything that happens with the LOTR's book series by J. R. R. Tolkien. What I am trying to ask is, is the "New Spring Novel" the beginning of the wot series or is it Something else entirely and my confusion is for nothing at all.

I was not sure if this was the right place to ask this question since I am new to this Forum, and if it isn't right area then I do apologize.

~Don~

New Spring is the prequel to the series, yes. It tells the story of how Moiraine and Lan met, twenty years before the Eye of the World is set.

But despite the chronology of it, I still prefer to read it where it was published (after Path of Daggers came out I believe). The reason for this is that you have a better understanding of the world and characters and can enjoy the prequel more.

And its really just a stand alone prequel to add a little back story for WoT fans. If you don't read it at all you will not have missed any information that cannot be found or is needed in the main series of books.

Yeah if you want to read New Spring I'd suggest you leave it until you've read the series through. Simply because it's not that action-packed (which some find off putting), so I wouldn't want anyone put off the series before they've finished it. If that makes sense...