DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Alanna Mosvani, is she aligned with the dark?

kasheem

Rereading and currently on The Great Hunt Chapter 12. In there is when Egwene and Nyneave begin receiving lessons from multiple Sisters besides Moiraine. First it is Verin, then Alviarin, Alanna, and Liandrin. Three confirmed Black Ajah (yes, Verin is not a dark friend but is Black) and then mysterious Alanna. I'm not that good at recalling information in WoT due to its mass, but I know she forcefully Bonded Rand and according to Wiki strangely vanished from the Stone of Tear without using Saidar and had a letter from Verin. I've always assumed at some point she would have to have a major part in all of this having Bonded Rand, anyone believe it is a part for the dark?

This has been much debated and you may want to do a search of the forums to see all the arguments for and against. personally, I'm quite sure she is not Black.

A few reasons.

• Verin found out most Blacks and it's pretty clear she doesn't know about Alanna. Egwene doesn't mention her name among the Blacks listed by Verin and I'm sure she would have given that Egwene herself was suspicious of Alanna being Black early on. And certainly at least one of them would warn Rand. yet Rand doesn't seem much concerned about her when Min mentions that she is missing in TOM. This was after he got Verin's letter. Also, in Verin's POV in LOC, ch 11(after Alanna bonded Rand) Verin and Alanna are not talking to each other as two Black sisters. If they are both Black they don't know about each other at that point. That would be very strange given Verin's abilities to ferret out Blacks and the fact that they've traveled together for a long time.
  • Min's viewing from aCOS, ch 34 that Alanna, Faeldrin , Bera, Merana and Rafela will keep their word to serve Rand. There are no qualifiers here like in the other viewing about Elza and Sorilea. If she is Black she will remain a faithful to Rand Black to the end. Not likely IMO.