DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Who else doesn't like Rand?

Naruto

Hello everyone, I'm new to WOT and I'm up to "The Path of Daggers" book.  I never read a book where I really disliked the main character until now.  Rand was fine in the beginning of the series but now I feel like he acts like a tyrant most of the time and I pretty much hate him and the way he treats everyone around him, even his friends.  I think my dislike for him started in "The Dragon Reborn" and I am really hoping Cadsuane changes him back but I really don't look forward to reading his POV anymore.  I thinks its because Rand pretty much overthrows the people in each kingdom and bullies them to support him or they can pretty much die if they don't.  I get the impression that Lews Therin was a leader of the people and had the peoples respect and I think the people now only support Rand out of fear rather than respect. I don't understand why Rand is treated like a King if he is suppose to be the Dragon Reborn because I don't think Lews Therin was a king or ruler during the War of Power age.

I hope Rand starts acting like he did in the first two books but I'd say so far I really like Mat's character the most.  I actually didn't like Mat in the first two books but I enjoy his POV the most now.  Maybe because his character is friendly and humorous and it seems his Band of the Red Hand Army follow him because they respect him.  I feel his respect was earned from his leadership skills developed from actual battle rather than him being a friend of Rands.  Well I'm wondering if others feel the same way about Rand or if I'm the only one.

If I had to guess I would guess that Matt is the single most liked character in the books. Don't forget, his knowledge isn't earned, far from it. He shuns who he is throughout the entire series. His knowledge was a gift from dead mans memories.