DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Ok guys, I need your help.

Torrie

Day one of no smoking!

I have been smoking since I was 13 years old. I am 6 months away from 29. I smoke a pack a day.

My husband is also a smoker. He also started when he was 13 and he is about to turn 32!  :o He smokes 2 packs a day.

We bought the patch today and I have the first one on.

Last time I tried to quit I was able to go 10 days smoke free. This time I want it gone forever. **nods**

I hope to be able to start running in the mornings or afternoons. I hope that I will control the hunger with sugar free candy. I hope to control the anger with breathing techniques.

Facts: It takes 30 days to break a habit.

A craving will only last for 3 minuets.

A person will try 10 times to quit smoking before succeeding.

There are 6 stages to quitting smoking. I am in stage 4.

Why I want to stop smoking.

1)Smell. I stink, my husband stinks, my kids stink, my house stinks, and my car stinks. I am tired of it

2)Money. We spend at least $15.00 a day on cigarettes. Sometimes more. Thats $105.00 a week. $420.00 a month. Over $5000.00 a year. :o

3) Health. I think we all know this one.

4)Time. I feel like every time I go outside to smoke I am taking that time away from my kids. 5 minuets smoking outside = 1 hour and 40 minuets a day.

So help me out. I will be looking at the above reasons multiple times a day, and excuse me if I am snappy. I will try hard not to be.  :D

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have a friend who quit smoking and she did this thing that I hear really works. She smoked a few cigarettes, than she put them and the ashes into a glass jar with some water, after that she put the jar in the sun, and everytime she wanted to pick up a smoke, she opened the jar, she said that was enough every single time to remind her why she was doing that. *Hugs* Good luck sweetie, I will be cheering you on!