DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

My Father and A Memory of Light

Abaddon

A Memory of Light (while I liked the book the first time I read it, and loved it the second time) it remains a bitter-sweet fruit for me...

My mother introduced my father to the Wheel of Time back in the early 90s, and she thought I would like it as well, so I picked up book one in 1995. (I was a Freshman in High School at the time.)

The series would mesmerize my dad and me for the next 15 years and we would have discussions and theorize with each other on the plot, characters, the Last Battle, etc. We anticipated each book excitedly and my dad would always purchase the hardback when it came out and I would have to wait until he was finished with it before I could start. He would take the hardback to work with him and read it on his lunch. Luckily he was like me and would become so engrossed with the book that he would finish it within a few days.

This pattern repeated (no pun intended, haha) for a few years until I got my own money and purchased the books myself. We both enjoyed the conversations and looked in anticipation and counted down the days to book release dates. When Gathering Storm was published after such a long wait from Knife of Dreams, we were both very excited that the series was going to be finished and we both quickly purchased the book and read through it with a new vigor. But then something sad happened...

When Towers of Midnight came out, my dad didn't express the same desire he once had to read the book. He didn't even purchase it. This was the first book in the series he didn't purchase. I loaned him my hardcover and he read it in about a week, rekindling some of his desire to finish the series. But then it got worse...