DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Announcing Pandy's Non-Authentic but Awesome Chicken Curry

Ladies and Gentlemen, if you're a fan of chicken curry, this is how to do it in your kitchen at home. I'm assuming you don't have any truly awesome cookware like a tandoor oven (SG would like those, they're basically like trolloc cookpots but with fire in the bottom), so all of this can be done with typical western pots and pans and stuff.

So, for the chicken.

From when I worked as a kitchen hand in an Indian restaurant, it would seem that the (best) authentic way of cooking chicken is to chop it up, marinate it in a mixture of yoghurt, paparika and chilli powder, skewer it, and roast it. This produces yummy, tender chicken. There's other ways, but that was my favourite.

In a western kitchen, ignore all that. It won't be the same. Instead, after marinating your chicken, dip it in flour and then fry it gently. If you're cunning, do this after step one, below; otherwise, cook it separately.

Now, for the goopy stuff.

If you're a fan of butter chicken, what you're eating is a mildly spiced mixture of about 8 parts cream to 1 part butter and 1 part tomato puree. It can taste nice, but it's not exactly healthy. Instead, do this:

1. Heat up some oil in a pan. Chuck in some cumin seeds and some chopped onion. Cook until clear or caramelising (your preference).

2. If you're hardcore, chop fresh tomatoes and add them. Otherwise, tip in two cans of tinned tomatoes. Add any spices you feel like, and a bit of brown sugar. Tip in a bottle of cream if you like cream, otherwise wait until step four and put in yoghurt instead. Let it all simmer for a while until it starts to come together.

3. If you've cooked your chicken separately, add it now.

4. If using yoghurt, lower the heat and very gently stir in your brand of choice. (unsweetened!)

5. Just before serving, chop up masses of fresh coriander and chuck it on top.