DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Tia mi aven Moridin isainde vadin

cloglord

I may have posted this before, or someone else might have beaten me to it, but in either case it has not been discussed here in rcent memory.

I am struck by the capitalisation or "Moridin" in the inscription on the Horn of Valere.  With the exception of when Mat is yelling at the Aes Sedai who are healing him in the Old Tounge, I do not recall an instance when a portion of the middle of a OT phrase is capitalized.  I am by no means an expert in OP grammar or sentence structure, but the use of Capitals would indicate to me the use of a proper noun, which would further lead me to believe that the term, "Moridin" instead of moridin meant that Ishmael will be no bar to its call.  He certainly was not when it was first blown at Falme. 

If I am correct in my assumption that it is the person and not the idea of death that is referenced, that of course begs the question of how/why Moridin will be present and how he would present a bar to the horn's blowing at TG.

The simple issue is that people innevitably personify death. And I mean that in the universal sense; there has been in every culture, society and religion that I have ever studied some form of myth, story or belief involving death action as personal being.

Between the two states... that RJ was waxing poetic by refering to death as an entity that 'could not bar the call of the Horn', and that it was a reference to Moridin the man, i think it is the first... after all, Moridin barring the call of the Horn would be a success, not an innevitable effect that the Horn over came. It doesn't match the language.

Since the Horn was made before Ishamael was born, much less re-incarnated as Moridin, for the specific purpose of bringing dead people into the world temporarily, I think its safe to say that the word "moridin", capitalized or not, means precisely what it says: "death" in it's generic form, translated as "the grave".