DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

The Wheel of Time as academia....

Jon Storme

So, I am currently in my final year of a BA in English and am struggling desperately to decide on something to study at Post-Graduate level. I have often thought about how unbelievably cool it would be to study WoT as an academic subject. Sometimes I wish I hadn't been born for another twenty years as I firmly believe that someday academic institutions will offer some form of courses relating to The Wheel of Time.

Apparently a few Universities are now studying Tolkiens fictional works quite seriously so why not Jordans?

Anyone have any views on this.....?

I don't know about courses, but I do know that Dr. Michael Livingston, who teaches at The Citadel in Charleston, studies the WoT from an academic perspective. I've seen him give a presentation on it, and I found him well-informed and entertaining.

I would imagine that a course would have to focus not only on the WoT series itself, but on the repertoire of sources Jordan drew upon (e.g. mythology, Arthurian legends, world religions) in order to succeed in an academic setting at this time.

I don't know about courses, but I do know that Dr. Michael Livingston, who teaches at The Citadel in Charleston, studies the WoT from an academic perspective. I've seen him give a presentation on it, and I found him well-informed and entertaining.

I would imagine that a course would have to focus not only on the WoT series itself, but on the repertoire of sources Jordan drew upon (e.g. mythology, Arthurian legends, world religions) in order to succeed in an academic setting at this time.

You are absolutely right in that any attempt to study WoT academically would have to involve Jordans sources and there certainly is an enormous wealth of them. As an English student, when we study a novel no matter what era it is from, we look at what came before it, its' influences and what shaped the authors view of the world which they created.