DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Dota 2

Lanthirrhos

I'm a complete noob when it comes to MOBAs (or whatever we want to call them, I know people bicker over that :P). So naturally, I decided that I'd pick up Dota 2 (arguably the hardest one, so I've heard... but I know people will bicker about that too) and muck about with it. I've put in about 120 hours thus far--mostly practice against bots; but I have 22 complete games in (and a paltry 50% win rate, like I said, I'm a noob). I have a few more games played than that, but they were plagued by abandonment so they didn't count towards the tally as wins or losses.

Does anyone have access already? Did anyone play the old Dota? In general, anyone have any thoughts on Dota? I can probably answer simple questions about Dota 2, but as I've mentioned, I'm a terrible noob, so don't expect me to have a clue. :dry: I'd be interested to hear what the major differences are between Dota/HoN/LoL/Other(?) as well.

I have to say that I'm enjoying it thus far, and I've only ran into one player who felt the need to flame his teammates for a losing game, but I'm still in the infant years so we'll see if this'll turn into another LoL in that regard.

Dota 2 doesn't have all it's features yet. The game itself works, but characters are still being added (Medusa and the Troll Warlord are the latest additions), AI being fixed, a "new" game mode just popped up last week (All Random, and Least Played is farly new too) and most notably for me all of the tutorial sections have yet to be added, even though they show up in the menu (there is a "Learn" page that details the Heroes and items, along with all their stats and abilities however, and bot matches are available, for whatever that is worth to you). Lobbies are also available for Private games with friends.