DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Melancholy and the Infinite Sadness - A Very Nostalgic Time

brujah

Wow. What can I say. I'm not good at being able to convey what I'm feeling, but I'd like to try.

Let me start by saying that I have NOT read AMoL, just yet. I've had some health issues, and I've just been able to get back around to catching up on certain hobbies.

The fact that I HAVEN'T yet read the book is where my heart is, at the moment. I just wanted to say that WoT has been some part of my life for 20+ years now. I started reading it as an early teenager. And last year, when this last installment that would finally wrap up our great story was set to finally come out, I wasn't really feeling anything but excitement. But now that It's finally here, now that the book is within hand, I'm feeling quite sad.

It feels like a certain era is ending, and I almost don't want to read this book. Because then it WILL be over. We can look back on our lives, and think of certain points in time by remembering a certain movie. I can often remember how old i was when I first saw some great films, and what was going on in my life at the time. Well this extremely long collection of books dots the map of time throughout the greater part of my life.

I really am sad to know that this story is finally ending. It often seemed like it would never end. I remember loving the first 4 books sooo much. I remember feelig that the story bogged down at times in the middle to later half of the books, but how it only got better as the story grew ever closer to the end. Of course I remember the sadness when the story lost it's true General, and Mr. Jordan's own great story came to an end. I remember thinking there was no way Sanderson, or anyone really, would be able to finish things when we lost our Great Captain. But I was still impressed with the story, in another authors hands.