DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Is this illegal?

mdnyttokr

As a huge supporter of Team Jordan, and a firm believer in intellectual property rights, I thought I'd ask my fellow DMers if the WoT AMoL prologue offer I've on FB is actually illegal, or if it's much ado about nothing.

A poster on FB has claimed that they will email out copies of the AMoL prologue to people outside the US and Canada who send their email address. Since, on the surface, this would appear to be stealing, I thought I'd ask around. Now, I can appreciate wanting to share the love of WoT, but I try to do so legally.

I play by the rules on this stuff. I don't steal music, I don't steal stuff from stores, and I don't steal books, electronic or otherwise. Even so, I probably wouldn't care, but I know that RJ felt strongly about this kind of thing, and I care about this series and I have some inkling of the amount of work and effort that went into getting it this far. However, I am no expert, so it could be that somehow this is perfectly legal. I cannot judge, so maybe someone else can.

Here's the link to the poster's website. The date/time stamp on the wall posts indicates they were posted on Sept 20, at about 6:30 am (Pacific time).

http://www.facebook.com/wotfull

Illegal? Or okay?

As a huge supporter of Team Jordan, and a firm believer in intellectual property rights, I thought I'd ask my fellow DMers if the WoT AMoL prologue offer I've on FB is actually illegal, or if it's much ado about nothing.

A poster on FB has claimed that they will email out copies of the AMoL prologue to people outside the US and Canada who send their email address. Since, on the surface, this would appear to be stealing, I thought I'd ask around. Now, I can appreciate wanting to share the love of WoT, but I try to do so legally.