DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Just finished reading the series for the first time. Here are my thoughts!

furyjkl

The Eye of the World: I've always been kind of drawn to the fantasy genre, but I've had some disappointing experiences with certain books I've tried in the past that have been less than stellar and rather cliche (*cough*Sword of Shannara*cough*). Nevertheless, I was looking for something to read, and I saw TEOTW on my brother's shelf. I'd seen this book and others from the series in the library and in bookstores throughout my life, but had never really given it much more than a glance. I decided to give it a go, and boy, was it one of the best decisions I've made in my life. As I read, I found myself going, "This is pretty good. Wow. There's some really cool stuff in here." Even though it started out with a seemingly typical "ordinary village boy/s get swept into epic quest by mysterious stranger in order to discover their destinies” sort of format, there was just something DIFFERENT. The story had this sense of unexplainable depth to it that touched down to the core of my soul in ways I’m not sure any book had before. Something that still sticks out in my mind were the dream sequences the ta’veren shared in which they are confronted by Ishamael. I finished TEOTW, and I knew I immediately needed to read the next in the series.

The Great Hunt: This remains my favorite book; it is the one that officially made me fall in love with the WOT. Rand and the Void, confronting his ability to channel; sexy Selene; Cairhien; Nynaeve and Egwene off to the White Tower; the portals. I LOVED the part at the portals where Rand sees all of his possible lives playing out. There was just so much cool stuff going on in this book. And don’t get me started on the conclusion…the last 100 pages had me in absolute AWE.