DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Vegetarianism

Ok, all. So, I've turned 30 at the beginning of this yr, and I lost my father to Hepatitis C right before Christmas. These two cataclysmic events have birthed an interest in Vegetarianism. I'm listening to "Skinny B-tch" on audiobook right now and it's quite an eye-opener for a carnivore like me. I've decided I WILL convert to vegetarianism, esp after I cleaned a fresh fish tonite (gross) and helped cook it (disgusting to see its eyes turn white and pop out right when it became ready). No offense to my meat-eating dairy-loving brothers and sisters, but I cant take it anymore. I've spent 30 yrs putting crap in my body and boy, does it show! >_<

So, I need help. Because, my biggest problem is --- I actually dont cook... *gasp!* That's right. I'm a young professional living in NYC who has no license (i.e. I ride the subway everywhere), and doesnt know how to cook (read: I eat out everyday). This is B.A.D. I have been on the peta and vegcooking sites. They are great, but I dont know where to start. Ideas? Comments? Experiences with either cooking healthy or cooking veg/vegan? I could use all the jump-start I can get right now to make this happen.  ;)

Guest nephitess

OMG!!! first of all..*tackles* it is good to see you hun!!!

I went veggie for about 3 months a few years back. it was the most awesome thing i did diet wise. Unfortunately I had to stop because i went to a place where i could not control my diet...but i digress.

it is hard to be a eat out veggy! You do have to cook as far as I know. You can make things that you can take with you...like granola bars as such.

one of my fav sites is this...

www.vegweb.com

fun site! Let me know how it all goes. :)

I almost feel bad for not having much great advice to give, despite having been a vegetarian for over 15 years. But a few pointers perhaps...Though, even these basic things require some cooking.