DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

The World Sea

Sa Wasai

SERIES SPOILERS WARNING If you are in the first book maybe you'll want to wait a bit before reading this...

In the Prologue to EotW there is a description of Lews Therin's clothes and mention of the fact that they were "...brought by merchants from across the World Sea". In another book there is mention of an enormous structure that is pointed at the sky and that kills people who come near it. (Can't recall offhand which book but the context causes me to believe the edifice has been left turned "on" for 3000 years.) The Stones also are reputed to go to other worlds (besides parallel ones). Is there any kind of backstory or comment to support other worlds were settled in the Time of Legends? Where did Ogier come from? Is the World Sea another name for "Space"?

I couldn't find any other topic headings that might help me with this. If this was hashed out long ago please forgive me, I'm a newbie.

Well the World Sea was just a large sea in the Age of legends... akin to the Aryth or the Pacific. Portal Stones do not touch on other worlds then parallel ones, though according to Verin the Age of Legenders thought others DID exist, lying perpindicular accross the pattern, as her metaphor went.

To me it seems very likely that Finnland is one of these. Its uncertain if the world the Ogier come from is also one of these, but we know the Ogier do NOT come from a parallel world like the Seanchan animals, because their method of returning (the Book of Translation)is completely different, and something that Loial apparently knows something of, whilst his knowledge of the Portal Worls is somewhat... vague.

Moghedian mentions space exploration, though in truth i doubt it got far. RJ has said that it might be possible to planet hop in our solar system using links and gateways, but that beyond that Travelling is simply implausable... not enough strength.