DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Artist of the Month - COLDPLAY

Corki

Sorry this is late, but here we go.

So, Coldplay was picked as the Artist of the Month for June. This is a group that is quite close to me in more ways than one, considering that Coldplay come from University College, London - and that is where I studied my degree. Also the frontman, Chris Martin, happened to study in the same department as me, which was the Greek and Latin Department. Sadly, he did a inferior degree, since he did Ancient World Studies, and not Classics!  8)

Formed in September 1996 by Chris Martin and guitarist Jonny Buckland, most of their first year was spent putting the Band together. The first name chosen by the two was Pectoralz, before "Coldplay" was borrowed from Tim Rice-Oxley (of Keane). Rice-Oxley didn't want the name, as he viewed it as too depressing. Gigs were played in Camden during 1997, before the first EP was released in 1998. More EPs were recorded, and once all the members had completed their finals, they signed a 5 album deal with Parlophone in spring 1999. Glastonbury was next up, and they eventually hit the airwaves of Radio 1 (one of the UK's main and biggest music stations) with Bigger Stronger. After a few fallings out, the debut album, Parachutes, was begun.

was the first single, and reached number 4 in the UK single charts. In a way, this song sums up Coldplay's sombre and somewhat depressing feel to their music. The album was released in July 2000, and reached number 1. Sales of the album exceeded what was expected, and 1.6m albums had been shifted by Christmas. Coldplay had hit the big time. After British success, attention turned to North America. A tour and lots of TV appeareances helped propel Coldplay in this area.