DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

My backup plan to save RJ.

TheoryMan

http://www.filecabi.net/video/monkey-headtransplant.html

I'm serrious... If the body is screwing up why should doctors not be able to remove the heads of brain dead patients and put on healthy heads of people who's brains are still perfect. Wasting a perfectly good body to me seems unethical. The only problem seems to be in severing the spinal cord, which is on the way to being repaired with current research anyway. I'd rather be a quadrapalegic(sp?) than dead... that's for sure. Especially when I'd only have to wait a decade or two for them to finish the technology to give me control of my body.

Hmmmm, intresting. Well, I'm not a scientist, doctor, w/e here, I don't even consider meself smart but...

...wouldnt the body have to be supplied also? I doubt that someone would just give away their body. And if a body was found I'm assuming the person is dead, and that means that the body has died since there was something defective that made it die. Therefore giving a defective body to someone.. would that make them die anyway?

And I doubt many peoples would agree to this kind of surgery... I dont think I would, not unless there was a high chance of success. Also doubt that this will be available to poeple in the near future, we will have to wait a little for something like that.

But hey, thats just me.... it would be cool though.

I'm talking about using the body of a brain dead person. AKA, they are clinically dead, but their body is kept alive by machines. All the body would need is a functioning head to start working again. If you could successfully match blood type and such, not to mention repair the spinal cord, I'd imagine it would be very possible. If the research does not get bogged down by religious fanatics, they could probably have this in the near future.