DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Hello all!

kapusta17

Hi. It feels a bit presumptious to start a thread wholly about myself but... er, here goes!

I am quite new to Dragonmount and organized WoT fandom in general, although I did read wotmania a couple years back. I really miss the humor section. I printed out those Rejected Sword Forms and taped them inside my high school locker to crack myself up between classes.

I first heard of WoT through my best friend in the 5th grade, who was a way more mature reader than I was. At lunch she would read me passages of LotR that she found hilarious (mostly about Aragorn yelling and waving his sword about at opportune moments). I remember she mentioned reading a book where the main character was going insane and had three wives, and there was a warrior character named Aviendha who she really liked. I still pronounce it "Aviend-ha" like she did, because it's a fond memory.

It wasn't until high school that I actually started reading the Wheel of Time, and I loved it terribly. I would writhe around in my seat at the dinner table until my mom said I could be excused and then I would race up to my room and spend the rest of the night glued to the book. It was like opening a portal to a different world on my lap and watching reality unfold before me. CoT and then later KoD where the two latest books that I read. After RJ passed away, I assumed it would be left at that, and I moved on.

Not until this summer did I start reading again, on a camping trip, and it hit me like a gong over the head -- what was I thinking abandoning this series? It's ridiculously amazing! I spend the last week of summer break plowing through the series, reading roughly 1000 pgs until 4am every day. I had to slow down my psychosis when I got back to university, and I finished AMoL exactly a week ago.