DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

A lost traveler seeking some help!

Sherper

Greetings! Fellow travellers and Tar Valon Witches! This is my first time here at Dragonmount and/or The White Tower, so I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I’ve read most of the introductory posts on the forums but there are still a few queries I was hoping someone might clear up. First and fore-most, could someone explain how the White Tower society in this thread actually works? I know Elgee…errr I mean Mother, said that there were to be minimum role playing in these sections, but also goes on to talk about things like ‘channelling’, ‘bonding’ etc. What I am curious about is how these things actually work, if you’re not RP-ing, and to what degree we’re allowed to stylize our posts with particular personas.

Hope to one day become part of this community, and I’m sure I’ll have a blast of a time once I clear and breech my ‘newbie period’.

Light protect, I’m just here for information. Don’t want no, Aes Sedai strings snaring me!

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

*Snares* ... lol

Firstly, you are more than welcome to call me Elgee! All this "mothering" isn't good for me, I'm sure.

Secondly, I hope you make a turn by the RP side too - you write beautifully, and they'll be very happy to share you out amongst themselves, methinks *grins*

Thirdly ... it is so very difficult to describe the difference between RP and Social, without sounding like a complete loon. One big difference is that here at the Social side, you are yourself, not a character. Even if you RP a bit in some thread, it would still be as yourself, not as a character ...except of course that you can channel / wield a sword / whatever Aes Sedai or Warder thingummy it is that you're doing at said time :P

So basically we hang around here, chatting, playing games, forming friendships, discussing topics and events, and every now and then pretending we're really Aes Sedai or Warders :P