DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Question about Egwene from someone only on book 5

Japboix1

Hi, I'm new to the whole Wheel of Time series and only started reading it a while back. At the moment I'm on the fifth book and I have a question I want answered without having too much revealed, hence why I don't just search for an older thread.

So my question is this. Is Egwene going to continue being so... annoying, for lack of a better term, for the rest of the books?

I honestly did like Egwene in the beginning of the series. She was easily in my top 3 characters in the first and second books and I enjoyed reading about her. Her remarks about males as a whole got irritating at times but I could deal with it.

But the last few books she's been really against Rand and acting more like the typical image of an Aes Sedai. She's becoming very judgemental and seems to act like she knows better, even when she clearly doesn't (like when she tries to comfort Aviendha, her guesses at why she's upset are often way off target). I just want to know if she's going to continue on this path. I'd like to brace myself for it if she is.

I'm trying not to hate, seriously, but I am getting seriously annoyed with Egwene at this point in the series and I'd honestly like to know, without spoilers if possible, whether or not she will continue to develop in this direction. I'm also very aware that there have probably been other threads on stuff like this (there usually are for book series) but looking through them might end up spoiling things for me.

• Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Community Administrator

Hi Japboix1, and welcome to the wonderful world of WoT!

This question is very difficult to answer.  Everyone has different tastes, so what one person calls annoying another calls level-headed.  And without going into spoilers, it's even more difficult.