DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY
Canarmane

The Wheel of Time MMO - A Proposal

Let me first off start by saying that the Wheel of Time series is by far my favorite fantasy series of all time - as a whole, it even ranks in my top 3 books of all time. I've been addicted to the series ever since my brother gave me TEotW all those years ago, and like you wait desperately for the release of A Memory of Light.

One distraction that I've used to help pass the time waiting in anticipation is to design a system for creating a Wheel of Time MMO (I'm currently majoring in Computer Science and have always been interested in game design). I think I've found a system that would work pretty nicely while still remaining true to the spirit of the series as well as being pretty darned fun to play:

---------------------------------------

First off, character creation. Obviously there would be two primary factions: Light and Dark. Generally speaking, there would several 'ethnicities' that players could choose from; Andoran, Illianer, Aiel, Sea Folk, Seanchan, Tinker, Ogier, etc.

Subdividing further, there would be several occupations people could choose from.

For the Light, choices could range from Soldier (in various country armies), a Mercenary, a Hunter for the Horn, a Warder, an Aes Sedai, an Asha'man, an Aiel, etc. with auxiliary classes like a vanilla herbalist/Wisdom or a Merchant. I shudder to think that someone would choose to be a damane, but the option might be there, I guess. Ogier specific classes might include Tree-singer or some such thing, and the Tinkers would need some specific occupation; Seekers?

The Dark would, generally speaking, have the same options. However, the numbers of Aes Sedai, Asha'men, Aiel, and what not would probably have to be severely limited. Additionally, the options to play as a Trolloc or Myrddraal would be there as well. I will discuss the Chosen later.