DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Does anyone else buy books because of their cover art?

Ryalt

So, this has been something I've personally done for as long as I have been reading.

I've always heard the metaphorical phrase, "don't judge a book by it's cover" and thought it was rather rubbish, since that's how I pick my books out in the store. I've been told I'm a bit foolish about it, but it's something that has treated me well over the course of my adult life. Ever since I picked up my first Dragonlance book at the used bookstore when I was 13 (I'm 26 now), it's been generally how I choose books when I need a new series to read, and I don't know the first thing about most of them.

Lately I've gotten to the point where I've read so many of the popular series, that a lot of things that I am pushed into reading are things I have little prior knowledge of in reviews. So this point sticks even further with me, as that if a book has an interesting cover it will grab my attention, and chances are I'll pick it up. I'm someone who loves going into a bookstore and physically handling and looking at books, and I don't buy my books online. I primarily only read fantasy, though I've come into a few Sci-Fi books because the cover was misleading and I mistook them for fantasy, but I don't mind reading those most of the time either.

Now am I alone in doing this? I've not really talked to many other people about it, but figured I'd give it a shot here on this forum. I can honestly say that I first picked up the WoT series for this very reason. It looked like a long series (which I particularly enjoy) and the cover art made me say hey, it looks like a medieval fantasy, exactly what I'm looking for. And man, it delivered.