DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Question about the one power?

michaelk93

Hi everyone I'm new to Wheel of time series and approximately 75% through the fourth book. I just have a question about the process of weaving flows when an individual is using the one power for a task. For example when someone is healing it states that a weave of Air, Spirit and Fire is created, but does not indicate what the channeler does next. Well I guess it probably does somewhere but I can't be bothered looking through all the chapters LOL. So can anyone help me and explain the process of using the one power for different tasks? That would be great thankyou!!  :)

Well, there's a reason it's called weaving. A channeler uses the different components of the True Source in a specific weave. By the way, some tasks can be performed by several distinct weaves. And of course, men and women use different weaves to do the same thing. However, if you're looking for the exact weave required for Healing, I'm afraid you'll have to ask an Aes Sedai. I was never properly educated in the subject...

Basically the channeler summons the One Power, enough to do what they want. Then they form the necessary weaves, which I think of as glowing lines that they form into a pattern. When that pattern is conplete, the desired effect occurs and the One Power drawn to do this then returns to the True Source.

To get the desired effect you have to create flows of the relevent aspects of the Power (Fire, Water, Earth, Air, Spirit) and then weave it into the desired pattern, both affect the outcome. As does the ammount of the Power you put into the weave. And yet there are ways around the channeler strengths in many cases, where if someone has a Talent for a certain weave they may be better at it than, or overcome opposing weaves created by, someone stronger in the Power.