DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

I'm rather new to this.... Any other sports nuts that love R.Jordan?

Murphy3

I don't know if I'm a bit out of place or what... I am a sports freak.  I don't know if your average reader of this genre is a sports freak, but that's exactly what I am.  I used to be a 'professional' sports writer.  I'll be honest when I say that no one that I hang out with or associate with on a daily basis has anything to do with this genre.  None of them have ever even heard of Robert Jordan.  Please tell me that I'm not alone... surely I cannot be the only sports nut that loves Tolkien, Stephen Donaldson, Tad Williams, Jordan and a host of other authors....

Anyways, besides that, I'm just a 32 year old guy from Fort Worth, Texas.  Yes, I am a bit down right now because of three things:

1. The Cowboys lost

2. It's not baseball season.

3. I need my WoT fix

So, does anyone have any suggestions within the fantasy genre?  I need something new to tackle before the next WoT book comes out.

Well, you're not completely alone. I'm a 39 year old pipeliner from just outside Monroe, La. Big fan of the LSU Tigers (damn it, Leslie), and HOW 'BOUT DEM SAINTS! 13-0! The Cowboys are in trouble this coming Sat. I also follow college baseball and basketball, boxing, UFC and a few other sports, all to a lesser degree than American football. There's also a big European presence around the board who seem pretty passionate about soccer and rugby.

I'm pretty new to this board. I'm off work for a couple of weeks due to a severely sprained ankle and I've been posting quite a bit. Started the books years ago and I've visited this site and others but never bothered to register and participate. I'll probably continue to visit even after I return to work though probably less often.

I actually lived in Graford, TX for a couple of years. Had a place at Lake Possum Kingdom, beautiful area. WHO DAT!!!

Or as we Europeans call it, football. ;)