DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

GREAT SERPENT RINGS

mike

i have read all about them for over a dozen years and have no idea what rj intends one to actually look like. a snake eating its tale; i can get a snake out in the woods and place him in this position and i am no closer to understanding.

i am new to the wot message boards so cut me some slack on this one....are there any grapic depictions of one of these aes sedai baubles that is close to what rj describes in his writing. :?:

if so where???

I myself never decided what it would look like. Here are some ideas I had:

1) The entire ring is in the shape of a snake, sort of like wrapping the snake around your finger, and then putting the tail end into its mouth.

2) The part of the ring that goes around your finger is just a normal ring, but there is a snake on top, like the design on a signet ring. It is a short snake, curled only once into an "O" shape, with its tail in its mouth.

3) Same as above, but a longer snake in a figure 8.

*shrug* :? I personally tend to picture #2 the most, I suppose.

I always figured it was pretty simple. You know the design in all the books of the snake eating it's own tale in an infinity pattern over the Wheel of Time? Yeah, it's that snake, in a figure eight, attached to a normal ring. So when you make a fist the snake looks like an infinity symbol (like in those pictures) across your ring finger and part of your middle and pinky fingers. That's I always pictured it.

Guest Karana Majin

Hi! The one I know most people consider most authentic is this one

http://pages.zdnet.com/joebarb/id20.html

The pictures are kind of crappy, but you can see what it's showing, a snake wrapped around once with the tail going down its throat, not just biting it. I think at one time these rings were licensed as well, so RJ authenticated them?

Hope that helps!

Wouldn't something that big get in the way, or get caught on things, though? Not very practical for an Aes Sedai.