DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Prologue

Mathias

Take a close look at that progress bar you're using as a reference, there. Now look at the text above it. "A Memory of Light First Draft." Calm down, friend, we've got a while to go.

Actually, "friend" Sanderson is working on the rewrite. If you look a bit harder you will notice the bar entitled "Rewrite of AMoL's First Quarter."  You should note that the prologue falls within the first quarter of a book. 

In the future when you have a smart, snotty comment to make I suggest you have a better grip on the facts.  Better yet, keep it to yourself because it certainly is not welcome here.

Well, before I say anything, let me point out I'm not being rude, just disagreeing with you. Which is ok.

A rewrite, or second draft, does not mean final. As a writer, I know that it's nowhere close, at least the way I work. Sanderson will probably want to go over it a couple more times before he calls it done. So don't get too overly excited by the 'rewrite'. It most likely is not the finished product. =)

Well, I must be very different than you. I prefer that they don't release the prologue. Even if they do, I don't want to read it.

The prologue was one of the scenes RJ worked most on and was most proud of. So the prologue will probably be 100 pages purely RJ.

You say you want to read that? RJ probably wrote about 300 pages, and dictated and did much work on the rest.

I prefer to read RJ's part when the book is released.

One thing Robert Jordan taught me was patience.  Was taking RJ 3 years to put out new WOT books, which is always the problem becuase the more I wait the more I expect and get hyped then find it can never live up to my way too high expectations that built up over the years.

I want the prologue, but only 2-3 months before the release of AMOL. A little apetiser, when the big release can be seen at the end of the tunnel.