DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

The Olympics - Beijing 2008

Majsju

So, the opening ceremony is just hours away, and people who have seen the rehersals say that we will see something incredible.

So, for those who will watch some of the games, what will you follow?

Me, I tend to use the Olympics as a chance to watch sports I never pay much attention to otherwise, like gymnastics, wrestling etc. But of course, also sports like football, tennis and athletics, sports I enjoy all year around.

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For me, the sport will be on while I'm studying (probably not the day before the exams, but certainly the first days).

Sports I really would wanna see are the cycling (road & track & mountainbike), athletics (short distances + steeple), kayak/kano, and gymnastics. But if it's the final of the 100 m backstroke I'll probably turn the sound up as well...

I'll also adopt my waking schedule: I'll get up at 6 instead of at 8.

I probably won't watch a whole lot but I do try to see at least some of the track and field since the Olympics is about the only time they are televised.  I also like to try and watch a little of the sports that I don't usually get interested in such as swimming and gymnastics.

Ok, WOW!

The ceremony was truly spectacular, though a bit too long. But whenever it started to feel a bit to slow, more fireworks ;D The swedish commentators mentioned a rumour that 49000 pieces were being fired, but I would not be surprised if the actual number is even higher.

Still not sure what to think about how the fire was lit though. Ok, it was great, no question about it. But there had been so many whispers and stuff that I can not help feeling that they could have made even more. Quite glad that the rumour about a domesticated panda proved to be just a rumour though :D