DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY
Mashiara Sedai

May Discussion: Favorite Non-Fiction Books

Halfway through the month, but I'm feeling motivated, so I'm jumping on it!

I'm not one to read non-fiction.  So, I thought it would be an interesting avenue to explore. 

The last non-fiction book I read was "Teaching Like a Champion," a book that gives helpful hints on how to manage a classroom.  It was actually really great, and as a first-year teacher, I really needed all the help I could get.

Other non-fiction books I've read include "What I Talk About When I Talk About Running" by Haruki Murakami.  He's a Japanese novelist who decided he needed to stay active since he was spending so much time writing.  He shares how he learned to love running and now competes in triathlons!  It was an amazing read!

What non-fiction books have you read?

I don't think I read non-fiction outside of my textbooks and spiritual books. 

Oh, wait! There is one. The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman. Everyone has a language that makes them feel loved. The five languages are Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. It's a really good book that teaches you how to make your loved ones feel loved. My language is Acts of Service. Nothing makes me feel more loved than when someone does something for me, even if it is as simple as running to McDonald's. The book is geared towards couples, but I find it applies to my children, too. There is also one for parents to learn to make their kids feel loved, too, and some others. 

I enjoyed The Five Love Languages as well, Lily. 

Non-Fiction books that I can see from my chair: