DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY
Mashiara Sedai

Brainstorming session....

Hi DM writers!  I've hit a bit of a snag in my brainstorming.  I recently sold a book where the setting is a contemporary magical college in Brighton, England.  My publisher wants me to turn it into a series!  They like the idea of a magical school of adults.  I've got a few ideas and two outlines in the works, but I need help thinking up shenanigans college-aged magicians can get into!

HELP!

we talking pranks or more involved-envelop a whole story type thing?

Either or.  One outline I've started features them on summer vacation and supernatural things abduct them from Florida.  The other begins where the first left off--at school around Thanksgiving. 

I need some seriously BIG plots for them to get up to at school (magical diseases, threats from outside magicians, maybe monsters since the first has a demon attack them).

I've never done a series before, so I need to give some serious thought to overall themes and character arcs I'd like to see in the next two-three novels.

rival schools? tons to be done with those. 

also things involving some particular majors. there has to be times when spells or what have you go horribly awry. pranks could be anything from turning people/furniture into different things to teleporting whole rooms elsewhere. 

also what about fraternities? 

All great ideas!

The thing I'm struggling with is timing of the school year.  I want to avoid Harry Potter-esque Everything-Happens-At-The-End-Of-The-School-Year cliche.  *lol*  So I need to build good starting and stopping points throughout the school year.  And then, if too many things happen, then it sort of stops the suspension of disbelief. Like, how many things can happen to this one guy (my main character).  But if I skip huge chunks of time--ie: the next book being the one from summer vacation--I've lost so much valuable time to tell stories.

Any advice on this dilemma?