DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

DM News:JordanCon Anthology Author: Alexandra Hill

Mashiara Sedai

• Community Administrator

For our next entry in the first ever JordanCon AnthologySo You Want Stories?I got to talk to Alexandra Hill about her submission "The Bakery: Prelude to a Fairy Tale."

First, can you tell us about your writing?  Is this your first published work?

I read really broadly, and I think that translates into what I write; I’ve either finished or am in the process of stories in a number of genres, including sci-fi, mystery, fantasy, memoir, and so-called “literary fiction.” Fantasy feels like home, though, especially in atemporal or modern settings. I love how the genre lets me ask “what if…?” not just of my characters, but of the world in which they live.

I’ve published academic writing under my real name – I’m a computational biologist by training, and have a few papers out under my real name – but “The Bakery” is my first work of published fiction.

Where does your story fall on the speculative fiction scale?

I think the title gives it away! “The Bakery: Prelude to a Fairy Tale” is fantasy, and sets up the world before “Once upon a time.”

What excited you the most with writing this story?

A million years ago, my Grade 12 English class was able to pick whatever topic they wanted for their final project. My subject: “Freudian Psychoanalysis and the Evolution of the Modern Day Villain.” I had a blast. I interpreted how Freud would have interpreted the backstories of villains in three 90s Batman Movies and three novels (Perfume, Harry Potter, and Hannibal Rising).