DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Welcome Haycraftd

Hayl3y

Welcome to the Band, Haycraftd !!!!

tenor.gif

Make yourself at home and don't hesitate to tell us a bit more about you :biggrin:

As you will see, there are areas here where we can chat about gigs, music, travels, aso...

So let's start with this question : will you travel this summer?

Well, I'm an American from New Orleans, LA, currently on a pilgrimage to Edinburgh, Scotland.  I'm going for a PhD on medieval history--Vikings took advantage of natural disasters to raid targets.  A PhD can be a lonely degree--and so one of the many things I've gotten involved in heavily is golf, although I'm not good at it.  Sports--I'm a New Orleans Saints fanatic.  

I got into the Wheel of Time when I was fourteen--when it was still just up to Winter's Heart--and I reread them often during high school.  The  WoT was EVERYTHING to me back then!  NOTHING  could match it.  And my favorite character was Mat.  Then came my undergraduate years, when Brandon Sanderson took over, and I kept up with it, although I couldn't reread everything before his novels anymore.  A Memory of Light came out in January 2013, I devoured it, and then things were done.  I felt I had to put it away and find something else.  And I didn't find anything else.  The only (modern) series that has come close to Jordan's has been Brandon Sanderson's other works. (I'm not counting Tolkien--he's almost a different genre these days).

I stayed away from the WoT for nearly 5 years--I stopped reading at all for a good while--but even the smallest reference could cascade me into memories of it and what I was doing while I was reading it.  

I forgot a lot of things were WoT and just took things for life.  I once had to look up Jak o' the Shadows to remember it was a poem in the WoT, not an old-fashioned song. The Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills--I forgot that was WoT saying.  Eventually I decided to listen to the WoT again in early December.