DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

How come Rand has become so selfish and...

Inmanuel

I am new to this series and i just finnished book 6. My question is how come Rand as the series goes is becoming more selfish, uncaring, violent and horrible all toguether? You just start to wish that one of the Forsaken destroys him, the Dark One wins and the people that Rand has been causing misery can finnally live in peace. Trully, he has become one of the most hated character in literature for me. Hopefully he will change and become so remorceful that he will be asking for forgiveness for the rest of his life. :evil:

He's going insane ... although frankly, this statement ...

You just start to wish that one of the Forsaken destroys him, the Dark One wins and the people that Rand has been causing misery can finnally live in peace.

seems a little over the top. Rand is dealing with stress, deception, the taint, and mental instability. He loses his temper occasionally, but I don't think a comparison with the Shadow is even close to justified. He could be a little nicer, but really ....

wow!! that was harsh!

I think his attitude is more to do with the increasing stress, the constant pain from his various wounds, and his desire to do the job (defeat the DO) and be done with it all(if he can)

Violent...... Keep reading to KoD look at perrin. Rand can't kill women. Rhurac can and will order them. So will mat. And perrin. They hate doing it but its nesicarry. And If you had so many injuries, 3 naggy girlfriends, and super bad stress because of the "Damn, I'm going to have to fight the overlord of the shadow," and like RAW said, he's facing mental instabilbility(spelled wrong lol)

I've always contended that his growing mental issues have as much to do with just plain cracking under the pressure as they do with the taint on the One Power. He just plain can't take the pressure.