DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

QONQR: World in Play

Andrej

QONQR is a phone app that I have been playing for nearly four years now. In a nutshell it’s a GPS-centric war game between three different factions. Using your phone’s location, you can battle for supremacy within your local area up to a radius of 30 miles, and up to 1000 miles with certain ordnances that are purchased through the game using “qredits”, which are the game’s concept of currency (and can be collected freely).

The actual play is more nuanced, but I won’t spoil it all here. There are offensive, defensive and supportive formations that can be used to wage war. Each has their advantages and disadvantages.

The story around QONQR is centered around a sentient technology that comes to Earth, which has fractured mankind into three sects with different ideologies of how to handle this new AI. The Legion (colored red) believe that QONQR will enslave humanity and will stop at nothing to destroy it. Swarm (colored green) believe it will usher mankind into an unprecedented golden age and wish to protect QONQR. The Faceless (colored purple) are militant hackers who wish to control QONQR for their own means.

The app should be available on nearly all newer phones and platforms. I personally play on iPhone but it is also available for Android. There is decently large community of players from across the globe, and the messaging apps GroupMe or Line are used to get in touch with other teammates for coordination, etc. The social aspect of the game allows for a lot of depth and fun.

So check the game out! If you decide to download and make an account, list 5thHorseman (that’s me) as your recruiter and you’ll get some free goodies to start out with. Also contact me through DM so that I can explain things a little more in depth. The game can be confusing to begin with but really isn’t hard to grasp with some guidance.

I hope to see some of you on the digital battlefield :wink:

QONQR on!