DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Are there any Excel experts around?

Elgee

I'm trying to create a big file where all my tenant details are in, from which I'd then like to create automatically updating statements.

Is such a thing possible? If need be, it can be the other way round too, though the above way would be preferable.

It should definitely be possible, when using the right formulas. You can even set a single cell to receive data from a completely different spreadsheet, as long as it is stored somewhere on the same pc. 

I'm no expert, and without seeing the actual data set, I can't help all that much either. If you google the specific terms you need, you should be able to find what is required. Good luck!

It should definitely be possible, when using the right formulas. You can even set a single cell to receive data from a completely different spreadsheet, as long as it is stored somewhere on the same pc. 

That's exactly what I want to do - have a large database in one spreadsheet, then have different spreadsheets for each tenant and owner, with just some of the data appearing in there.

I'm no expert, and without seeing the actual data set, I can't help all that much either. If you google the specific terms you need, you should be able to find what is required. Good luck!

I've googled for hours, but not found anything exactly like that.

Yeah, without seeing the actual dataset, it would be hard to determine.

I work a lot with Excel, so if you want to PM me with details, you can :)

Thank you, Pralaya! I'll definitely PM you just as soon as I've done my GL report :)

That's exactly what I want to do - have a large database in one spreadsheet, then have different spreadsheets for each tenant and owner, with just some of the data appearing in there.

Ah. There are two ways to do that (that I use, so there might be different ways):

* The STS must be saved somewhere on the pc.